USCAP Honors

Ramzi S. Cotran Young Investigator Award
2016Donna Hansel
2015Charles G. Mullighan
2014A. John Iafrate
2013Celina G. Kleer
2012Cristina Antonescu
2011Shuji Ogino
2010Jorge S. Reis-Filho
2009Christine Iacobuzio-Donahue
2008Anirban Maitra
2007Arul M. Chinnaiyan
2006Kojo S. J. Elenitoba-Johnson
2005Marc Ladanyi
2004Mark A. Rubin
2003Julia A. Bridge
2002Frederic G. Barr
2001Ralph Hruban
2000Mary Sunday
1999Lawrence Weiss
1998Cheryl L. Willman
1997Christopher D. M. Fletcher
1996James R. Downing

Brigham & Women's Hospital and the United States and Canadian Academy of Pathology

The Ramzi S. Cotran Young Investigator Award was established by the USCAP Board of Directors to recognize a body of investigative work which has contributed significantly to the diagnosis and understanding of human disease. This award is restricted to USCAP members who are under the age of 45 (born in 1972 or later) and in good standing with USCAP for at least one year prior to receiving the award.

This important award is named after Dr. Ramzi S. Cotran, Past-President of USCAP, outstanding pathologist, person, and mentor.

The award consists of a commemorative plaque and $5,000.

Selection Process

The application form can be found by clicking here. Please submit electronically each of the following to Denice Chinn:

  • Application form, completed and signed by the applicant
  • Curriculum Vitae (CV)
  • Letter from a nominating sponsor (not necessarily a USCAP member) summarizing the nominee’s qualifications for the award
  • Supporting letter from an additional sponsor who must be a member of USCAP

Awardees are selected by The Ramzi S. Cotran Young Investigator Award Committee. Committee members rank the candidates and provide their assessment to the Committee Chair. The Chair notifies the Executive Vice President (EVP) of his/her selection. The EVP presents the individual to the Board of Directors for ratification (preferably at the Interim Meeting) and subsequently notifies the winner and arranges for the plaque and check. The awardee does not have to be present at the Annual Meeting and travel funds are not included.

It is preferable that the Ramzi S. Cotran Professor (Harvard Medical School) and Chair, Department of Pathology, Brigham and Women’s Hospital, Dr. Jeffrey A. Golden, will present the award on March 7, 2017.

Submit completed form and reprint (or preprint) of paper by email to Denice Chinn at  Note:  The deadline for The Ramzi S. Cotran Young Investigator Award is Saturday, October 15, 2016.

Most-Recent Awardee

Donna Hansel, M.D., Ph.D.

Dr. Donna Hansel was born in Minneapolis, MN, and moved to Florida at the age of five. She completed her primary and secondary education in South Florida. She subsequently enrolled in the Bachelor of Science Degree Program in biology at the Johns Hopkins University, graduating Phi Beta Kappa. During her undergraduate career, Dr. Hansel was actively engaged in numerous academic activities that included laboratory research, with her first presentation at the Society for Neuroscience during her sophomore year. She was accepted into the M.D., Ph.D. Medical Scientist Training Program at the Johns Hopkins School of Medicine, where she completed her Ph.D. in the neurosciences, with first author publications in the Journal of Neuroscience and Nature. She was awarded a Multiple Sclerosis Society Fellowship in 2001 to study dorsal root ganglia biology in the Genetics and Pathology Departments at the Erasmus University in Rotterdam, the Netherlands. She returned to the Johns Hopkins School of Medicine at the end of her fellowship, where she completed her residency in anatomic pathology and a genitourinary pathology fellowship with Dr. Jonathan Epstein in 2006. Dr. Hansel was awarded membership into Alpha Omega Alpha at the completion of her residency.

Dr. Hansel joined the Cleveland Clinic anatomic pathology staff led by Dr. John Goldblum in 2006 as a subspecialty genitourinary pathologist, and was appointed as an Assistant Professor of Anatomic Pathology at the Cleveland Clinic Lerner College of Medicine of the Case Western Reserve University, with joint appointments in the Case Comprehensive Cancer Center, Genomic Medicine Institute, Taussig Cancer Center, and Glickman Urological and Kidney Institute. Dr. Hansel continued to expand her research focus in bladder cancer, given her passion to develop new diagnostic and therapeutic interventions for patients with this historically understudied disease. She received funding during this time from the National Institutes of Health and the American Cancer Society to study the role of mTOR complex function in bladder cancer cell invasion, and advanced to the rank of Associate Professor. Dr. Hansel also oversaw the prospective multi-institutional collection of bladder cancer specimens for the Cancer Genome Atlas Project during this time, and continues to support the mission of this enterprise. In 2013, she was recruited to the University of California at San Diego as a Professor of Pathology with Tenure and Chief of the Division of Anatomic Pathology by Dr. Steven Gonias. She oversees an interdisciplinary research program in bladder cancer that incorporates advanced -OMICs technologies in the analysis of human bladder cancers, identifying cell signaling pathways that may be targets for bladder cancer therapeutics development in the future. Dr. Hansel has also implemented a highly subspecialized division focus and continues to grow the outstanding group of anatomic pathology faculty at this institution. She is honored to be the recipient of the 2016 Ramzi S. Cotran Young Investigator Award.

Dr. Hansel has authored over 100 peer-reviewed publications, edited or authored 5 textbooks on urologic pathology and biospecimen repositories, and has participated in more than 50 national or international talks on bladder cancer. She has participated in the Kidney-Urinary tract panel for the 8th Edition of the AJCC Cancer Staging Manual and contributed to the upcoming 4th edition of the WHO Classification of Tumours of the Urinary System and Male Genital Organs. She is currently on the Editorial Board for Advances in Anatomic Pathology and is a section editor for urologic oncology in Archives of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine and has mentored over 20 residents, graduate students and postdoctoral fellows, while remaining active in clinical service. She remains grateful to all those who have mentored her along her career path, as well as to former and current collaborators - all of whom have challenged her to grow and think in new ways about clinical diagnostics and laboratory research.


view more