USCAP Honors

The F.K. Mostofi Distinguished Service Award
2016Julia A. Bridge
2015Linda D. Ferrell
2014Frederic G. Barr
2013John Reid Goldblum
2012Celeste Powers
2011Sylvia L. Asa
2010James Crawford
2010John Eble
2009Jeffrey L. Myers
2008Richard Fraser
2007Victor E. Reuter
2006Richard J. Zarbo
2005Ronald A. DeLellis
2004Donald A. Antonioli
2003Elaine S. Jaffe
2002Robert Pascal
2001Virginia LiVolsi
2000Fred G. Silva
1999William A. Gardner
1998Costan W. Berard
1997Cecilia M. Fenoglio-Preiser
1996Emanuel Rubin
1995Harvey Goldman
1994David Hardwick
1993Bernard M. Wagner
1992Kenneth Earle
1991Kamal G. Ishak
1990Nathan Kaufman
1989Benjamin F. Trump
1988Jack P. Strong
1987F. Stephen Vogel
1986Leland D. Stoddard
1985Robert H. More
1984Murray R. Abell
1983Richard E. Palmer
1982Jack M. Layton
1981Benjamin Castleman
1980Joshua L. Edwards
1979Robert E. Stowell
1978Chapman H. Binford
1977Harold L. Stewart

The F.K. Mostofi Distinguished Service Award was established in 1976 as a tribute to the long and distinguished service to the Academy given by Dr. Mostofi. The Award may be presented annually to a member of the Academy who has emulated Dr. Mostofi with outstanding service to USCAP and to the International Academy of Pathology. The awardee is selected by the Board of Directors.

Most-Recent Awardee

Julia A. Bridge, M.D.

Dr. Julia Bridge was raised in Lincoln, Nebraska and earned her Bachelor of Medicine and Medical degrees at the University of Nebraska. (Coincidentally, Dr. Mostofi obtained his undergraduate degree at the University of Nebraska in Lincoln.) She trained in pathology at the University of Kansas, in cytogenetics at the University of Nebraska, and in molecular biology at the Southwest Biomedical Research Institute (AZ) under the mentorship of Dr. Avery Sandberg. She joined the faculty at the University of Nebraska in 1991 where she practices cytopathology, bone/soft tissue pathology, cytogenetics, and molecular diagnostics. She is the Medical Director of the Nebraska Collaborative Laboratory (Methodist Health System/ Nebraska Medicine/UNMC). Dr. Bridge also directs a research laboratory for which she has had uninterrupted funding since receipt of her first award as a senior pathology resident.

Dr. Bridge is co-author (with Ors. K. Krishnan Unni, Carrie Y. Inwards, Lars-Gunnar Kindblom, and Lester E. Wold) of the AFIP Atlas of Tumor Pathology; 4th Series, Fascicle 2: Tumors of the Bones and Joints and (with Dr. Avery Sandberg) of The Cytogenetics of Bone and Soft Tissue Tumors, and is co-editor (with Ors. Christopher Fletcher, Pancras Hogendoorn, and Fredrik Mertens) of the 4th edition of the WHO Classification of Tumours of Soft Tissue and Bone. Dr. Bridge has authored more than 240 scientific papers and 15 book chapters. She has been invited to lecture at numerous national and international meetings and credits the USCAP as playing a significant role in her professional development through its leading educational offerings.

Dr. Bridge has received various honors and awards throughout her career including the American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons (AAOS) Kappa Delta Investigator Award, the USCAP Young Investigator Award, MSKCC Fred Waldorf Stewart Award, and the Connective Tissue Oncology Society (CTOS) Herman Suit. She serves or has served on the editorial boards for Modern Pathology, Cancer Genetics, Cancer Cytopathology, The Journal of Molecular Diagnostics, among others; the Children's Oncology Group Soft Tissue Sarcoma (including Director of the Cytogenetic Reference laboratory) and Ewing sarcoma committees; Secretarial Appointee to the Department of Veterans Affairs (VA) Genomic Medicine Program Advisory Committee; and as the President of the International Society for Bone and Soft Tissue Pathology (ISBSTP).

Dr. Bridge has been involved in USCAP in several capacities through teaching [short courses, special courses (Director/ speaker of molecular special courses for 14 years), and long course), moderating sessions, and committee/leadership appointments (Education Committee, the USCAP Council, Pathology Resident Ambassador, the Young Investigator Award Committee, F. Stephen Vogel, M.D. Award Committee, Stowell­Orbison Award Committee, Castleman Award Committee, Sustaining the Academy Development Committee, USCAP Long Term Strategic Planning, Nominating Committee, Foundation Committee). She would like to thank the staff and faculty with whom she has had the honor to work with through her involvement in USCAP for their commitment and generosity in this preeminent organization and also for the support of her family (late husband, Jim Neff, and children, Stuart and Rachael) and her Nebraska colleagues.


view more