USCAP Honors

The President’s Award
2016Celeste N. Powers
2015E. Blair Holladay
2014Richard L. Kempson
2013Jean Silva
2012Robin Cooke
2011Fred G. Silva
2010Jeffrey L. Myers
2009Jo Ann Q. Johnson
2008Jack Perry Strong
2007James P. Crimmins
2006USCAP Staff
2005Andrew G. Huvos
2004David F. Hardwick
2003Kamal G. Ishak
2002Ruth Kirschstein & Alan Rabson
2001Ramzi Cotran

This award was established so that each year the President and the Executive Committee would have the opportunity to recognize an individual for outstanding service to the Academy and the field of pathology. The award is conferred at the sole discretion of the President without requirement for it to be given annually. It is presented at the Business Meeting during the Annual Meeting. The awardee is introduced by the President and receives a commemorative plaque.

Most-Recent Awardee

Celeste N. Powers, M.D., Ph.D.

Dr. Powers obtained her M.D. and completed residency in anatomic and clinical pathology at the University of Texas Medical School, Houston, Texas, and a fellowship in cytopathology at the Medical College of Virginia in Richmond. She began her career as assistant professor at the University of Texas Health Science Center in San Antonio, Texas and subsequently relocated to the State University of New York Health Science Center in Syracuse, New York, to assume the position of Director of the Cytopathology Laboratory and Fellowship Program, and Medical Director of the Program in Cytotechnology. She returned to the Virginia Commonwealth University Health System in 1998 and is currently Chair of the Division Anatomic Pathology and holds the endowed "Saul Kay Chair in Diagnostic Pathology."

Dr. Powers' areas of expertise include: head and neck, respiratory tract, infectious disease and fine needle aspiration biopsy. She has co-authored two textbooks, "Fine Needle Aspiration Biopsy of the Head and Neck" and "Salivary Gland Cytopathology," numerous chapters and over 100 publications. She has been repeatedly listed as one of America's Top Physicians and Pathologists, as well as in Best Doctors in America.

She has served as an editorial board member for several pathology journals over the years. An Associate Editor of Cancer Cytopathology since its inception in 1996, she has been Editor-in-Chief since 2009. Dr. Powers has held numerous leadership positions including within the ASCP, receiving the George F. Stevenson Distinguished Service Award. She has been an executive board member, officer, and President of the American Society of Cytopathology, receiving the Society's highest honor, the Papanicolaou Award. Dr. Powers also served on the Executive Board of the Papanicolaou Society of Cytopathology and is the 2015 recipient of the L.C. Tao Educator of the Year Award.

Dr. Powers has been an active USCAP educator involved in Specialty Conferences, Companion Societies, a Short Course on Salivary Gland Pathology, the Special Course in Cytopathology. For years she directed the USCAP Diagnostic Cytopathology Course. She has had numerous leadership roles in USCAP beginning with the Abstract Review Board and as a moderator of platform and specialty conferences and has participated in the inauguration of the USCAP Foundation. She served on the Education and Membership Committees and on the Board. She received the 2012 F.K. Mostofi Distinguished Service Award and served as USCAP President in 2014-2015.

In addition to her professional achievements, Dr. Powers has become an enthusiastic equestrian who enjoys riding her Warmblood Hunter, Toy Soldier. She shares her private life with her long-term partner, the respected cytopathologist/ paleopathologist, Dr. Miguel Sanchez. Their frequent trips throughout the world, especially Spain, experiencing diverse cultures and flavors, have enriched them both. Together they are the naming donors for the USCAP Interactive Center in Palm Springs, CA, inaugurated October 30, 2015.


view more