Companion Society Awards

Companion Meeting Society Awards are not awards of the USCAP, although they are based on abstracts presented at USCAP Annual Meetings. Recognition is for best works in the area of the Companion Society interests and applicants should be the first author of the paper. Announcement of winners and presentation of the award is the responsibility of the Companion Society. A selection committee appointed by the Companion Society will assess papers and make an award decision for each meeting.

Posters accepted for the Stowell-Orbison Awards competition will automatically be considered for one of these awards if they are in an appropriate category. Others wishing to apply for these awards should notify the individual listed below to validate their status as a pathologist-intraining - after receiving notification that their abstract has been accepted for presentation. After the meeting, Companion Societies are invited to list their winners on the USCAP Web site.



Binford-Dammin Infectious Disease Society - $500
Dr. Jeannette Guarner
Pathology and Laboratory Medicine
Emory University
2342 Massey Lane
Decatur, GA 30033
404) 395-8926; Fax: (404) 728-7995
Gastrointestinal Pathology Society - $500
Dr. Amitabh Srivastava
Brigham and Women's Hospital
Department of Pathology
75 Francis Street
Boston, MA 02115
( 617) 527-0159; Fax: (617) 525-8587
Hans Popper Hepatopathology Society - $500
Dr. Matthew M. Yeh
Associate Professor of Pathology
University of Washington School of Medicine
1959 NE Pacific Street
NE 140 D, Box 356100
Seattle, WA 98195-6100
(206) 598-0008; Fax: (206) 598-3803
International Society of Gynecological Pathologists - Best Platform: $500; Best Poster $250
Dr. Teri A. Longacre
Stanford University
Medical Center-H2110
Dept. of Pathology
300 Pasteur Drive
Stanford, CA 94305
(650) 498-6460; Fax: (650) 725-6902
International Society of Urologic Pathology
Dr. Adeboye O. Osunkoya
Emory University School of Medicine
Department of Pathology, RM H174
1364 Clifton Rd, NE
Atlanta, GA 30322
(404) 712-8411; FAX: (404) 728-4848
North American Society of Head and neck Pathology - Best Poster: $250; Best Platform $250
Dr. Susan Muller
Emory University, Hospital
Dept. of Pathology
1364 Clifton Road, NE
Atlanta, GA 30322
(404) 778-2295; Fax: (404) 712-4780
Papanicolaou Society of Cytopathology - $500
Dr. Claire W. Michael
Univ. of MI Medical Center
Pathology, Box 5054
1500 E. Medical Center Drive
Room 2G332 UH
Ann Arbor, MI 48109-5054
(734) 936-6770; FAX: (734) 763-4095
Pulmonary Pathology Society -
Up to 5 Awards of $100 each

Dr. Aliya N. Husain
Professor of Pathology
University of Chicago
Room S627
5841 South Maryland Avenue, MC6101
Chicago, IL 60637
(773) 834-8397; Fax: (773) 834-7644
Renal Pathology Society Liliane Striker Young Investigator Award - $500 and
Pathologists-In-Training Best Posters Award -
Up to 3 Awards of $250 each

Dr. Harsharan K. Singh
Associate Professor of Pathology and
Laboratory Medicine, Director
The University of North Carolina School of Medicine
409 Brinkhous Bullitt Building
Chapel Hill, NC 27599-7525
(919) 966-2421; Fax: (919) 966-4542
Society for Cardiovascular Pathology - $500
Dr. Gayle L. Winters
Brigham & Women's Hosp.
Dept. of Pathology
75 Francis Street
Boston, MA 02115
Phone: (617) 732-5166; FAX: (617) 975-0944
Society for Hematopathology - $500
Ms. Carolyn Lane
Society for Hematopathology c/o USCAP
404 Town Park Blvd, Suite 201
Evans, GA 30809
(706) 733-7550; FAX: (706) 733-8033
Society for Ultrastructural Pathology - $500
Dr. John Hicks
Texas Children's Hospital
Department of Pathology, MCL-2261
6621 Fannin Street
Houston, TX 77030-2399
(832) 824-1869; Fax: (832) 825-1032