USCAP Honors

Benjamin Castleman Award
2017Carlos A. Murga-Zamalloa
2016Benjamin H. Durham
2015Mark J. Kiel
2014Valetina Nardi
2013Abner Louissaint
2012Daniel Winer
2011Jiaqi Shi
2011Anthony Gill
2010Adeboye Osunkoya
2009Kirsten D. Mertz
2008Laurence de Leval
2007Adebowale Joel Adeniran
2006Arul M. Chinnaiyan
2005Andrew P. Weng
2004Anirban Maitra
2003Jerome T. O'Connell
2002David G. Huntsman
2001Todd Kroll
2000Daniel J. Brat
1999Irina Lubensky
1998Jeffrey K. Taubenberger
1997Sarah S. Frankel
1996Frederic G. Barr
1995Marc Ladanyi
1994Cheryl L. Willman
1993Timothy J. McDonnell
1992Giorgio Ingrahami
1991Peter A. Humphrey
1990Ivan Stamenkovic
1989Stephen Chalmer Peiper
1988John Anastasi
1987James T. Kurnick
1986Lawrence M. Weiss
1985Ann D. Thor
1984George F. Murphy
1983Renato V. Iozzo
1982William E. Beschorner
1981Roger Warnke

Massachusetts General Hospital and the United States and Canadian Academy of Pathology

The Benjamin Castleman Award  is granted for an outstanding paper in the field of human pathology published in English. Selections made by the Benjamin Castleman Award Committee will be based on the merit of the submitted paper, not on the entire career of the author. Please do not include additional supporting papers. Any optional information or letters from sponsors should be focused on the paper, not on the author’s qualifications. The 2018 award will be based on papers published during the calendar year 2017. The subject may represent any topic in pathology, but must be directly relevant to human disease. On papers with multiple authors, only one author is eligible, and only one paper per author may be submitted.

The awardee must be a pathologist or a pathology resident or fellow who has not yet reached his/her 40th birthday during the calendar year in which the paper was published.  Papers by pathology trainees are encouraged. The prize will consist of a check for $1,500 and a certificate. Funds for travel are not included and the awardee does not have to be present at the Annual Meeting.

Applicants should complete the application form online and electronically submit the form along with a PDF reprint (or preprint) of their manuscript. This award, financed by contributions to a fund established by former students and trainees of Dr. Castleman, will be presented on Tuesday, March 20, 2018 during the USCAP Annual Meeting in Vancouver, Canada.

Note:  The deadline for The Benjamin Castleman Award is Thursday, October 12, 2017. 

Most-Recent Awardee

Carlos A. Murga-Zamalloa, M.D.

Dr. Carlos A. Murga-Zamalloa was born in Lima, Peru. He received his M.D. degree from San Martin de Porres University, Lima. Subsequently, he completed two postdoctoral trainings at the University of Michigan in Dr. Anand Swaroop’s and Dr. Megan Lim’s laboratories. In 2015, he completed his Anatomic and Clinical Pathology Residency at the University of Michigan and is currently a Hematopathology Fellow at the University of Michigan.

Dr. Murga-Zamalloa has published 24 peer-reviewed manuscripts, one third of them as first-author. His current work focuses on the pathogenesis of T-cell lymphomas and specifically on the role of actin-related signaling networks during the development and progression of these types of tumors. His most recent work has demonstrated the role of Wiskott-Aldrich syndrome protein (WASp) in regulating the oncogenesis of anaplastic large cell lymphoma.

Dr. Murga-Zamalloa has been the recipient of the 2014 Hematological Opportunities for the Next Generation of Research Scientists (HONORS) Award from the American Society of Hematology (ASH) and the 2015 Stowell-Orbison Award Certificate of Merit from the United States and Canadian Academy of Pathology (USCAP). He is currently working under the mentorship of Dr. Ryan Wilcox and Dr. Stephen Weiss at the University of Michigan.


view more