USCAP Honors

Board’s Distinguished Pathologist Award
2017Christopher D.M. Fletcher
2016Thomas V. Colby
2015Sharon W. Weiss
2014Henry D. Appelman
2013Krishnan Unni
2012Steven G. Silverberg
2011Stephen S. Sternberg
2010Juan Rosai
2009Louis P. Dehner
2008Bernard M. Wagner
2008Nathan Kaufman
2007Peter Burger
2006Harvey Goldman
2005Robert D. Collins
2005J. Bruce Beckwith
2004Kalman Kovacs
2004Daria Haust
2003Richard L. Kempson
2002Robert Heptinstall
2002William Hartmann
2001Leopold Koss
2001Margaret Billingham
2000John H. Yardley
1999David C. Dahlin
1998Robert E. Scully
1997Elson B. Helwig
1996Raffaele Lattes
1995Henry Rappaport
1994Franz Enzinger
1993Wallace H. Clark
1992Emmanuel Farber
1991Stanley L. Robbins
1990Arthur T. Hertig
1989Earl P. Benditt
1988Hans Popper

The Board’s Distinguished Pathologist Award was established by the Board of Directors of USCAP for recognition of distinguished service in the development of the discipline of pathology. This award is presented to an individual who is recognized for making major contributions to pathology over the years.

These candidates are proposed by the Executive Committee and the Awardee is selected by the Board of Directors at the Interim Meeting for presentation at the Annual Meeting.

Most-Recent Awardee

Christopher D.M. Fletcher, M.D., FRCPath

Dr. Fletcher graduated from St. Thomas’ Hospital Medical School in London and obtained postgraduate qualifications from the Royal College of Pathologists (MRCPath - 1988) and the University of London (M.D. - 1991) in the United Kingdom. Dr. Fletcher has published extensively on the pathology of soft tissue tumors and is probably best known for his work challenging the diagnostic entities of malignant fibrous histiocytoma and hemangiopericytoma. He has also described for the first time a variety of lesions, including, among others, deep benign fibrous histiocytoma, angiomyofibroblastoma, retiform hemangioendothelioma, spindle cell liposarcoma, myoepithelial lesions of soft tissue, cellular angiofibroma and soft tissue angiofibroma.

He has worked extensively on cytogenetic/morphologic correlations in soft tissue tumors. He is Chairman of the WHO Working Group on the Classification of Soft Tissue Tumours, having been senior editor of both the 2002 and most recent 2013 classifications.

He has nearly 600 publications, including more than 400 original papers on soft tissue neoplasms, and several books, among which are the two-volume Diagnostic Histopathology of Tumors, now in its 4th edition. He has been the recipient of numerous honors and awards, is on the editorial board of 17 international journals and was President of the Association of Directors of Anatomic and Surgical Pathology from 2003-2006. He is currently President-Elect of USCAP and is former President of the International Society of Bone & Soft Tissue Pathology and the Arthur Purdy Stout Society.

Dr. Fletcher is currently Professor of Pathology at Harvard Medical School, Vice Chair, Anatomic Pathology at Brigham and Women’s Hospital, Boston, Massachusetts and Chief of Onco-Pathology at the Dana-Farber Cancer Institute in Boston.


view more