The Board’s Distinguished Pathologist Award was established by the Board of Directors of USCAP for recognition of distinguished service in the development of the discipline of pathology. This award is presented to an individual who is recognized for making major contributions to pathology over the years.

These candidates are proposed by the Executive Committee and the Awardee is selected by the Board of Directors at the Interim Meeting for presentation at the Annual Meeting.

Elaine S Jaffe, M.D.

2019 USCAP Board’s Distinguished Pathologist

Dr. Jaffe studied at Cornell University Medical College and the University of Pennsylvania, receiving the M.D. from the latter. Her residency and fellowship in pathology were completed at the National Cancer Institute, where she went on to become Chief of the Hematopathology Section of the Laboratory of Pathology.

One of her earliest papers on follicular lymphoma (1974), a Citation Classic, presented evidence for the origin of this tumor from follicular B cells. More recently she described in situ follicular lymphomas, which provide insight into the earliest events of follicular lymphomagenesis, and identified histiocytic/dendritic cell tumors arising in follicular lymphoma, providing the first evidence for lineage plasticity in mature human lymphoid cells. She has authored more than 600 peer reviewed articles, 40 invited editorials, and more than 150 chapters and invited reviews.

Dr. Jaffe was an Editor for the 2001 and 2008 editions of the WHO Classification of Tumors of the Hematopoietic and Lymphoid Tissues and was one of four series editors overseeing the 4th Edition Series of Bluebooks for the classification of human tumors, under the auspices of the International Agency for Research on Cancer and the World Health Organization. Her textbook, Hematopathology, is now in its second edition. Dr. Jaffe has served on 21 journal editorial boards, including the USCAP journals, Modern Pathology and Laboratory Investigation.

Science Watch named her among the 10 most highly cited researchers in clinical oncology from 1981 and 1998, and she was among the 400 most highly cited researchers in all Biomedical Sciences worldwide between 1996 and 2011. She is past president of both the Society for Hematopathology and USCAP. She has held several leadership positions in the American Society of Hematology. Among her awards are the Fred W. Stewart Award from Memorial-Sloan Kettering Cancer Center, the Lennert prize from the European Association for Haematopathology, the Maude Abbott Lecturer for the United States and Canadian Academy of Pathology, the Stratton medal from the American Society of Hematology, and the Rous Whipple Award from the American Society of Investigative Pathology in 2016. Dr. Jaffe was recognized for her mentoring with awards from the National Cancer Institute and the American Society of Investigative Pathology. She received an honorary degree from the University of Barcelona, and the Distinguished Graduate Award from the University of Pennsylvania School of Medicine in 2011.

In 1993, Dr. Jaffe was elected a fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science, and subsequently was elected Chair of the Medical Sciences Section of AAAS. She was elected to the Institute of Medicine of the National Academies – now the National Academy of Medicine – and currently serves as Membership Chair for Section 4 (Internal Medicine, Pathology and Dermatology).

Previous Award Recipients

2018 Stacie E. Mills
2017 Christopher D.M. Fletcher
2016 Thomas V. Colby
2015 Sharon W. Weiss
2014 Henry D. Appleman
2013 Krishnan Unni
2012 Steven G. Silverberg
2011 Stephen S. Sternberg
2010 Juan Rosai
2009 Louis P Dehner
2008 Bernard M. Wagner
2008 Nathan Kaufman
2007 Peter Burger
2006 Harvey Goldman
2005 Robert D. Collins
2005 J. Bruce Beckwith
2004 Kalman Kovacs
2004 Daria Haust
2003 Richard L. Kempson
2002 Robert Heptinstall
2002 William Hartmann
2001 Leopold Koss
2001 Margaret Billingham
2000 John H. Yardley
1999 David C. Dahlin
1998 Robert E. Scully
1997 Elson B. Helwig
1996 Raffaele Lattes
1995 Henry Rappaport
1994 Franz Enzinger
1993 Wallace H. Clark
1992 Emmanuel Farber
1991 Stanley L. Robbinson
1990 Arthur T. Hertig
1989 Earl P. Benditt
1988 Hans Popper