2017 Diagnostic Cytopathology


January 14, 2017 to January 16, 2017
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites, Charleston, SC

2017 Diagnostic Cytopathology
Ritu Nayar

Ritu Nayar, MBBS, M.D.
Northwestern University

Course Director

Dr. Ritu Nayar is a Professor of Pathology and Director of Cytopathology at Northwestern University, Chicago.  She is Immediate-Past President of the American Society of Cytopathology (ASC), a member of the Executive Council of the International Academy of Cytology (IAC) and in 2015 was elected as a Trustee for the American Board of Pathology (ABP).

Dr. Nayar's clinical practice includes anatomic pathology, administration, teaching and translational research.  She has published over 150 journal articles/book chapters and edited 7 books. Her special interests include gynecologic and thyroid pathology and she is co-editor of the second and third editions of The Bethesda System for Reporting Cervical Cytology and a contributing author for The Bethesda System for Reporting Thyroid Cytopathology.  Dr Nayar has been actively involved in organized Pathology for over 25 years, having chaired and served on several committees, in a number of major professional  organizations, including the ASC, ASCP, ABP, CAP, USCAP, IAC and the NCI.  She currently serves as section editor or editorial board member for eight pathology journals and is a frequent guest speaker and moderator at national and international pathology meetings.

Edmund S. Cibas

Edmund S. Cibas, M.D.

Dr. Cibas is Professor of Pathology at Harvard Medical School and Director of Cytology at Brigham and Women's Hospital in Boston, MA.  He obtained his medical degree from Harvard Medical School and residency training in Anatomic Pathology at the Brigham and Women's Hospital. He completed a cytopathology fellowship at Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center and studied fine needle aspiration at the Karolinska Hospital in Stockholm.

Dr. Cibas is the program director of the cytopathology fellowship at the Brigham and Women's Hospital and co-directs (with Jeffrey Krane) the annual Harvard Medical School "Advances in Cytology" postgraduate course. He is the co-author (with Barbara Ducatman) of Cytology: Diagnostic Principles and Clinical Correlates, now in its fourth edition, and co-editor (with Syed Ali) of The Bethesda System for Reporting Thyroid Cytopathology.

He's currently the President-Elect of the American Society of Cytopathology, and his term as President of the ASC will begin this November.

William C. Faquin

William C. Faquin, M.D., Ph.D.
Massachusetts General Hospital / Harvard Medical School

Dr. Faquin is the Director of Head and Neck Pathology at the Massachusetts Eye and Ear Infirmary and a subspecialty pathologist at the Massachusetts General Hospital in Boston, MA. He is a Professor of Pathology at Harvard Medical School, and is recognized for his dedication to teaching and contributions to the field of head and neck pathology and cytology. He has authored over 250 peer-reviewed publications, and has co-authored books on head and neck cytohistology, salivary gland cytopathology, and thyroid cytopathology. Dr. Faquin is currently the co-chair of the College of American Pathologists Evidence-Based Guidelines Committee developing national guidelines for the testing of head and neck squamous cell carcinomas for high-risk HPV. He is also co-chair of the Milan System for Reporting Salivary Gland Cytopathology sponsored by the ASC and IAC. Dr. Faquin has been selected as successor to Dr. Celeste N. Powers as Editor-in-Chief of Cancer Cytopathology.

Sara E. Monaco

Sara E. Monaco, M.D.
University of Pittsburgh Medical Center

Dr. Monaco is an associate professor at the University of Pittsburgh Medical Center (UPMC) specializing in non-gynecological cytopathology.  She is currently the Cytopathology Fellowship Program Director at UPMC, and is also the director of the Fine Needle Aspiration (FNA) Biopsy Services at Children’s Hospital of Pittsburgh of UPMC and UPMC-Shadyside Hospital.  Her research interests include fine-needle aspiration (FNA) biopsy diagnoses, cytology-histology correlations, pediatric cytopathology, and the application of ancillary studies and molecular diagnostics in cytopathology.  Dr. Monaco has presented several educational courses at national meetings, including the United Stated and Canadian Academy of Pathology (USCAP), American Society of Cytopathology (ASC), and the American Society of Clinical Pathologists (ASCP).  She is currently a co-chair for the ASC Website Committee, and a co-chair for the ASCP Case Reports in Cytopathology.  On a personal note, Dr. Monaco resides in Pittsburgh with her husband and three children.

Martha Bishop Pitman

Martha Bishop Pitman, M.D.

Dr. Pitman is the Director of the Cytopathology Laboratory at Massachusetts General Hospital and a Professor of Pathology at Harvard Medical School. Dr. Pitman is a nationally and internationally recognized expert in the field of fine needle aspiration cytopathology in general, and pancreaticobiliary cytopathology in particular. Dr. Pitman’s clinical research has been devoted to the investigation of the early detection of pancreatic cancer. Her contributions to the field have centered on the value of cytology in the pre-operative diagnosis of premalignant lesions at high-risk for malignancy. Dr. Pitman led an international and multidisciplinary group of physicians interested in pancreatology in the development of The Papanicolaou Society of Cytopathology System for Reporting Pancreaticobiliary Cytology. Standardized terminology for the reporting of pancreaticobiliary lesions are published in the blue book series by Springer. Dr. Pitman's lectures will cover the pre-operative diagnosis of solid and cystic pancreatic lesions addressing the multidisciplinary and multimodal approach including sampling techniques, tissue triage and processing, cytological criteria, ancillary techniques including molecular analysis and reporting recommendations using the proposed standardized terminology.

Eva Wojcik

Eva Wojcik, M.D.
Loyola Medicine

Dr. Wojcik is currently the Chair of the Department of Pathology and endowed Professor of Pathology and Urology at Loyola University Medical Center. Her special interest is genito-urinary cytopathology. She completed her residency in Anatomic Pathology and Clinical Pathology at Wayne State University and her cytopathology fellowship at the MD Anderson Cancer Center. Currently, Dr. Wojcik is the President of the American Society of Cytopathology and an Associate Editor of the Journal of the American Society of Cytopathology. She serves on editorial boards of Diagnostic Cytopathology and Archives of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine. Dr. Wojcik has been a frequent invited speaker at numerous international, national and regional forums. Most of her presentations are dealing with recent advances in urine cytology. Her CV lists over 100 peer reviewed publications, about 200 abstracts and 8 book chapters. Currently she is leading international efforts for standardization of reporting of urinary cytology (The Paris System). As a result of these efforts, she co-edited the recently released book The Paris System for Reporting Urinary Cytology.


view more