“Be daring, be different, be impractical…

…be anything that will assert integrity of purpose and imaginative vision against the play-it-safers, the creatures of commonplace, the slaves of the ordinary.”
-Cecil Beaton

Current Sitting President

Wendy L. Frankel, M.D.

The Ohio State University, Wexner Medical Center

Dr. Frankel is Distinguished Professor and Chair of Pathology, at The Ohio State University, Wexner Medical Center and is Director of the GI/Liver Pathology Fellowship. She earned her M.D. from the University of Michigan Medical School in Ann Arbor, Michigan. She spent five years as a resident and research fellow in the Department of Surgery, Hospital of the University of Pennsylvania in Philadelphia. She then went on to complete a residency in Anatomic and Clinical Pathology in the Department of Pathology, University of California, San Diego followed by a Surgical Pathology Fellowship at the University of California, San Francisco.

Dr. Frankel currently serves as President of USCAP, is Past-President of the Rodger C. Haggitt GI Pathology Society, and a founding member of the Pancreatobiliary Society. She has been a member of the USCAP Education Committee, Board of Directors and served as Treasurer. She has been an abstract reviewer, platform session moderator, taught in 4 Short Courses, 2 Long Courses, Practical Pathology Seminars, Interactive Microscopy, several Evening Specialty and Society Sessions, and is a past-moderator and presenter at Diagnostic Pathology.

She is the GI Pathology Cadre leader for Alliance for Clinical Trials and Oncology. Her research is centered on colorectal cancer genetics with focus on Lynch Syndrome. She has published greater than 220 papers, multiple chapters and given numerous national and international lectures. She has been involved in multiple grants, serves as editor for 4 journals, has garnered many teaching awards, and recently received the OSU College of Medicine Mazzaferri-Ellison Society of Master Clinical Award.

Past Presidents

2017-18 Christopher D.M. Fletcher
2016-17 N. Volkan Adsay
2015-16 John R. Goldblum
2014-15 Celeste N. Powers
2013-14 Jeffrey L. Myers
2012-13 Linda D. Ferrell
2011-12 Gregory N. Fuller
2010-11 Stuart J. Schnitt
2009-10 Richard J. Zarbo
2008-09 Victor R. Reuter
2007-08 Christopher P. Crum
2006-07 Henry D. Appelman
2005-06 Sylvia L. Asa
2004-05 Ricardo V. Lloyd

Past Presidents

2003-04 Virginia A. LiVolsi
2002-03 Louis P. Dehner
2001-02 Ronald DeLellis
2000-01 Deborah Powell
1999-00 Harvey Goldman
1998-99 Elaine S. Jaffe
1997-98 Sharon Weiss
1996-97 Richard Kempson
1995-96 William Gardner
1994-95 Hector Battifora
1993-94 Ramzi S. Cotran
1992-93 Peter A. Ward
1991-92 Costan W. Berard
1990-91 David F. Hardwick
1989-90 Cecilia Fenoglio-Preiser
1988-89 Ronald S. Weinstein
1987-88 Robert Leader
1986-87 John Yardley
1985-86 Robert McCluskey
1984-85 David M. Robertson
1983-84 F. Stephen Vogel
1982-83 Bernard M. Wagner
1981-82 Leland D. Stoddard
1980-81 Kenneth M. Earle
1979-80 William Hartmann
1978-79 Jack P. Strong
1977-78 Benjamin F. Trump
1976-77 Jack M. Layton
1975-76 Murray R. Abell
1974-75 Richard E. Palmer
1973-74 Nathan Kaufman
1972-73 F.K. Mostofi
1971-72 William Christopherson
1970-71 T.C. Jones
1969-70 Edward A. Gall
1968-69 Joshua L. Edwards
1967-68 Robert H. More
1966-67 A. James French
1965-66 Henry D. Moon
1964-65 David E. Smith
1963-64 J. Lowell Orbison
1962-63 John B. Hazard
1961-62 Benjamin Castleman
1960-61 F.W. Wiglesworth
1959-60 Robert E. Stowell
1958-59 Chapman H. Binford
1957-58 William O. Russell, Jr.
1956-57 Edward B. Smith
1955-56 Jesse E. Edwards
1954-55 Harold Stewart
1953-54 Averill A. Liebow
1952-53 James B. McNaught
1951-52 Granville A. Bennett
1950-51 G. Lyman Duff
1949-50 James E. Ash
1948-49 Everett L. Bishop
1947-48 Ralph D. Lillie
1942-47 Samuel R. Haythorn
1941-42 William H. Feldman
1940-41 Tracy B. Mallory
1941-42 William H. Feldman
1940-41 Tracy B. Mallory
1939-40 James E. Ash
1938-39 Carl V. Weller
1936-38 V. H. Cornell
1934-36 William Boyd
1933-34 Victor Jacobsen
1932-33 George R. Callender
1929-32 H. E. Robertson
1924-29 James F. Coupal
1922-24 F. B. Mallory
1921-22 James Ewing
1920-21W. M. L. Coplin
1918-19 O. Klotz
1916-18 A. S. Warthin
1914-16 Karl Aschoff
1912-13 R. M. Pearce
1910-11 A. S. Warthin
1908-09 W. G. MacCallum
1907 James Carroll