The President’s Award was established so that each year the President and the Executive Committee would have the opportunity to recognize an individual for outstanding service to the Academy and the field of pathology. The award is conferred at the sole discretion of the President without requirement for it to be given annually. It is presented at  the awards ceremony during the Annual Meeting. The awardee is introduced by the President and receives a commemorative trophy.

The USCAP Foundation

2018 President’s Award

Dr. Christopher Fletcher is honoring the USCAP Foundation with the 2018 President’s Award to recognize the outstanding contributions of Dr. Gregory Fuller (Chair), Paul Lewin (Director) and the entire Foundation Committee. The collective energy and empathy of this committed group resulted in measurable outcomes in Innovating Education, Fostering the Next Generation of Pathologists and Promoting Global Health.

USCAP Foundation revolutionizes learning with the Powers-Sanchez Interactive Learning Center and the Linder Learning Center. It cultivates the next generation of pathologists by bringing pathologists-in-training to USCAP’s Annual Meeting and facilitating mentoring relationships. USCAP Foundation invests in the future of pathology. Technology, travel and research grants are available to pathologists from under-resourced countries. Combined with distance learning opportunities, the Foundation promotes gobal health by optimizing patient care through enhanced pathologists’ skills.


Gregory N. Fuller, MD, PhD Chair
Julia A. Bridge, MD
Martha Bishop Pitman, MD
Mary S. Richardson, MD
Steven C. Smith, MD, PhD
Esther Oliva, MD
Donna E. Hansel, MD, PhD
Yael Kushner Heher, MD, MPH, FRCPC
Celeste N. Powers, MD, PhD
Christopher D.M. Fletcher, MD, FRCPath (Ex-Officio)
David John Grignon, MD (Ex-officio) Treasurer
David B. Kaminsky, MD, FIAC (Ex-Officio)
Paul M. Lewin (Chief of Business Development)


Promoting Global Health
Fostering the Next Generation of Pathologists
Innovating Education for Pathologists

Previous Award Recipients



2018 USCAP Foundation
2017 Laura W. Lamps
2016 Celeste N. Powers
2015 E. Blair Holladay
2014 Richard L. Kempson


2013 Jean Silva
2012 Robin Cooke
2011 Fred G. Silva
2010 Jeffrey L. Myers
2009 Jo Ann Q. Johnson
2008 Jack Perry Strong
2007 James P. Crimmins
2006 USCAP Staff
2005 Andrew G. Huvos
2004 David F. Hardwick
2003 Kamal G. Ishak
2002 Ruth Kirschstein
2002 Alan Rabson
2001 Ramzi Cotran