The Dr. L. Clarke, Jr. and Elaine F. Stout Award was established in 2015 by the generous support of Dr. L. Clarke, Jr. and Elaine F. Stout. This award will ensure that pathologists endeavoring to resolve scientific medical problems by studying their anatomic features are supported and appreciated in perpetuity. The Stout Award will provide recognition and an award of $3,000 to an individual for the best English language peer-reviewed paper published during the twelve months preceding the application deadline, which resolved scientific medical problems by studying their anatomic features.

To apply for the Stout Award, applicants must complete the application form available on the USCAP website and electronically submit the application form along with a reprint of the publication to the USCAP Foundation.

Applicants must be the first author of the publication. The Academy does not sponsor travel or hotel accommodations for this award. The selection is made by the Stout Award Committee.

Application deadline: Friday, October 11, 2019

Kanika Taneja, MBBS, MD, DNB

2019 Dr. L. Clarke, Jr. and Elaine F. Stout Award

Dr. Taneja is an anatomic and clinical pathology resident at the Henry Ford Hospital in Detroit, Michigan. Prior to this program, she was a residency and fellowship-trained pathologist in India. While pursuing her fellowship in India, she wanted to expand her skills in pathology and explore the tremendous research opportunities in this field, within the United States. This opportunity became available to her when she took a sabbatical to pursue research in genitourinary pathology at the Henry Ford Hospital under the mentorship of Dr. Sean R. Williamson and Dr. Nilesh Gupta. It was during this research year that she worked on the incidence and anatomy of retrograde venous invasion in 300 surgical specimens of renal cell carcinoma.

Dr. Taneja acknowledges Dr. Williamson for teaching her to be meticulous and organized in her approach to gross examination and inspired her to pursue her career in academic pathology through formal residency in the United States. She underscores that early in life she realized the importance of education as an investment. Brought up in a family that considered education as its greatest asset, she found herself in an environment that had the right mixture for personal and educational growth that paved the way to being a scholarship holder at school, and the first in her extended family to attend medical school. The move to the United States widened her horizons and reaffirmed her belief that knowledge is the strongest spoke in the wheel of medical science. She is excited to pursue a career in academic genitourinary pathology.

When she is not busy with pathology, she loves to cook, go canoeing with her husband (a urologist) and their 16-month-old daughter who loves the great US outdoors as much as her parents.

Previous Award Recipients

2019 Kanika Taneja

2018 Arnulf H. Koeppen
2017 Natalia Rush

2016 Nikhil Sangle
2015 Ming Jin